top of page

Blog #5

From the reading of the chapter 5 "Exploring Topics and Creating a Research Proposal" from the Bedford Book of Genres, I could observe the best way to approach the process of choosing a topic for the research project. Some advices are very helpful since choosing the topic of your composition is the first step to a long and effortful work. Many times, it can be hard to choose a topic, especially for a long project since there is much to be researched, and depending on the topic, the writing can become fun and interesting or the biggest struggle. In the reading, it states that, first of all, it is important to choose a topic that you are curious about since it will help you write more about it. However, many times, for past assignments, I choose a topic that I thought it was interesting for me thinking it would be much easier to write about, and at the end it was harder. That happened because I did not research into it prior to the project; once I started searching for resources on the topic I chose I realized that there wasn’t many good researches behind it, which became a problem. Moreover, checking if your topic is compatible with your assignment is also essential.

Because of all that, I decided to search on my topic prior to writing the proposal for the research project. Luckily, I found a topic which I am interested in writing about, which is the community of female student athletes at Florida State University. The topics we usually talk about are related to the multiple pressures we have to face as competitive athletes, which can lead to complicated psychological issues. When researching for the topic I found multiple branches for my project such as eating disorders and stress due to high pressure on collegiate athletes which became topics I might look more into during my research project. Therefore, this little steps opened multiple branches for my project which I am now curious to write about and certain that I have enough resources to “run to”.


You Might Also Like:
bottom of page