top of page

Conference Reflection

In the conference, we talked about the genre and subgenre I chose for my personal essay which was Instagram pictures and the hashtag #behinfthefilter respectively. First, we talked about the importance of making sure I explained what Instagram and hashtag is to make my essay more reachable and detailed to all the readers. We also agreed that Mr. Wenzel also recommended the use of different examples to describe the two different situations I was trying to talk about. I figured I had to find an example of account on Instagram that posts “perfect pictures” that can generate social pressure on teenage girls and describe how it could do so. I also decided to find examples of pictures in the subgenre I decided to write about, the #behindthefilter. Thus, I searched for the posts my group of friends posted in this subgenre and described their picture, caption and consequently their intention behind the posts. This helped me create a more visual essay for my audience, in which they could “see” my point of view instead of just read an essay full of words of what I saw and understood from my analysis of the pictures. Therefore, I explained my point of view but also allowed the audience to interpret the pictures on their own way.


You Might Also Like:
bottom of page